Permafrost Young Researchers Network


Erin Trochim (President)

Erin is a PhD candidate in Remote Sensing and Hydrology at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Her dissertation is focused on understanding the geomorphology and ecological properties of drainage networks aka. water tracks in the foothills on the North Slope of Alaska. She has a MS in Hydrology where her work examined the hydrology of a small Arctic basin as proxy for modeling hydrology in other ungaged regions. Originally from Whitehorse, Erin enjoys the perks of living and working in northern regions including 6 month long ski seasons and long summer days.

Anna Wagner

Anna Wagner

Anna is a Research Environmental Engineer at the Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory (CRREL), Fairbanks, USA. Her research focuses on snow and environmental studies such as contaminant transport and contaminant containment. She has studied snow sublimation in the Arctic, investigated the repeatability of snow patterns, performed groundwater modeling at permafrost sites, and demonstrated the performance of artificial frozen barriers using thermosyphons.  Her PhD is in Environmental Engineering from the University of Alaska Fairbanks and her MSc is in Engineering Physics from Luleå University of Technology, Sweden. Anna was a PYRN ExCom member in 2011-2012.

 Julia Khalilova

Julia Khalilova (Stanilovskaya)

Julia is permafrost researcher in laboratory of geocryology at Sergeev Institute of Environmental Geoscience Russian Academy of Sciences (IEG RAS), graduated geocryology and glaciology faculty in Lomonosov Moscow State University (MSU) in 2007. Focused on geotechnical monitoring of geological processes and difficult geological conditions along liner objects in permafrost of Eastern Siberia (mostly pipelines). Julia is PYRN representative at TICOP, responsible for stipend, workshop and social events. In 2011 Julia started coordinate PYRN activity.