Permafrost Young Researchers Network

The PYRN Workshop during the 5th European Conference on Permafrost (June 23 – July 01, 2018) with over 150 participants was by far the largest activity PYRN organized this year. Many used this opportunity to meet other permafrost enthusiasts and developed new connections. The workshop was also a forum for career design where senior scientists shared their experiences on topics such as mentorship, publishing and proposal writing. Highlight of the program was a 1-day local excursion to the summit of the Brévent, featuring a breathtaking panorama of the Mont Blanc massif. At this event, junior and senior scientists shared their knowledge and passion about alpine mountain permafrost research in the French Alps. In conjunction with the conference, PYRN honored two outstanding presentations held by young scientists and organized a social event with local cuisine and a PubQuiz. Thanks to many generous sponsors (IPA, Univ. Franco-Allemande, IASC, EU Nunataryuk, Petzl Foundation, OSUG, Lions International) PYRN was able to offer the workshop free of charge for all participants and granted travel support to over 100 PYRN members!

So during the 5 EUCOP in Chamonix-Mont Blanc (France), 22 Jun-1 Jul 2018  (, PYRN was honoring the best oral and poster presentations of Early Career Scientists with a PYRN-IPA Award.

The awards were gratefully sponsored by the International Permafrost Association (IPA).

Here are the recipients of the PYRN-IPA Awards 2018 for the best presentations at the 5th European Conference on Permafrost:

Samuel Gagnon (Laval University, QC, Canada) received PYRN-IPA Awards 2018 for the best oral presentation.

Constanza Morino  (School of Environment, Earth & Ecosystem Sciences, The Open University, UK) received the PYRN-IPA Awards 2018 for the best poster presentation.

PYRN presentation awardees Samuel Gagnon (3rd from the left) and Constanza Morino (4th from the left) received the PYRN-IPA Awards 2018 from Hanne H. Christiansen – President of IPA (1st from the left), Helena Bergstedt – President of PYRN (2nd from the left) and Jannik Martens – Vice-President of PYRN (5th from the left)